The Sarasota County Sheriff's Office makes all reports available per Chapter 119 of the Florida State Statutes.
It is helpful to have the Sarasota County Sheriff’s Office case number. If not, you will need to know the location of the incident, the date and time of occurrence or the name of the person who contacted the sheriff's office to file the report.
Please visit this link to MAKE A RECORDS REQUEST.
Records and reports can be obtained in person from the Records Section of the Sarasota County Sheriff's Office, first floor of the Criminal Justice Center, 2071 Ringling Blvd., Sarasota. Hours are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Requests can also be sent by mail to:
Sarasota County Sheriff's Office
P.O. Box 4115
Sarasota, Florida 34230-4115
or by email to the Records Custodian
For more information, contact the Records Section at 941.861.4025.
single side - 15 cents each
double sided - 20 cents each
SPECIAL SERVICE CHARGE FOR EXTENSIVE USE*
First ½ hour – Free
Requests taking longer than a half hour would be charged at the rate of pay of the Sarasota County Sheriff’s Office Records Technician/Assistant Custodian providing the service, plus rate for copies.
A deposit will be required in advance.
*Section 119.07 (4), Florida Statutes provides that when the nature of the request requires extensive use of information technology resources or extensive clerical or supervisory assistance by personnel of the agency involved a special service charge may be assess by the agency.
BACKGROUND CHECK/CRIMINAL HISTORY:
- Sarasota County Only - No Charge
- State of Florida - $24 (Contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement)
FDLE Website: http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/cms/Criminal-History-Records/Obtaining-Criminal-History-Information.aspx
FDLE Phone Number: 850.410.8109
If within the first sixty (60) days of occurrence, the requestor MUST provide:
- photo identification
- completed Sworn Statement for Traffic Crash Information
*Section 316.066, Florida Statutes crash reports are exempt from public disclosure for 60 days after the date the report is filed, except for parties involved in the crash and other specific parties outlined in the statute.After sixty (60) crash reports may be requested from https://secure.crashdocs.org/fl-sarasotacounty.
SCSO RECORDS SECTION CONTACT INFORMATION:
Public Records Supervisor
Records Custodian/ Central Records Manager